top of page

The Waiting


The Waiting by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers was one of the first singles I ever bought. I absolutely loved this song and still do to this day. It's hard to believe he's gone. The photos above are of the 7-inch single that I still have from 1981! It's a real trip going back to some of these songs from my childhood and actually being able to play them now. When I was twelve, I could only play air guitar and dream of actually playing a song like this.


This is such a well crafted song. It has the classic pop song structure of verse - pre-chorus - chorus with the all important bridge and guitar solo. The sound of the recording is also so classic. I loved the rhythm and especially the lead guitar tone. Interestingly enough, this was co-produced by Jimmy Iovine.


Here are the chords and structure (click on it to download a PDF).


On a sad day, I find the music always gives me comfort.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page