top of page

Call The Police


I have to admit that when I first heard this song when it was released this summer, it didn't really speak to me. Now, I have to say, it is growing on me. I am a fan of LCD Soundsystem and have been for some time but I was a little put off when their sound began to venture into 80's alternative land. I was and am a huge fan of bands like New Order, Joy Division and the Cure and I hear a lot of their influence in this song. I also hear a lot of Bowie in it, especially in the harmonized "ahhs" in the choruses. I have to say though that I think James Murphy does manage to synthesize all these elements and create something of his own. I believe it's due mostly to his lyrics. I have listened to a few songs from the latest album, American Dream, and I find that the lyrics are really good in all of them. They feel really a part of the world we are living in at the moment.


Here are the chords and structure (click on it to download):


Here is the tab for the very New Order-like guitar melody that comes in in the second verse (click on it to download):

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page