top of page

TOPxMM

I am a fan of Twenty One Pilots and an even bigger fan of MUTEMATH so when I found out about this collaboration I was pretty excited. I really didn't know what to expect when I pressed play. It was even better than I expected. The two bands went into the studio together and rerecorded five well know Twenty One Pilot songs but re-imagined. These bands can play. The musicianship is really good and if you are a drummer, you will enjoy it even more.


In my opinion, all the songs are amazing but my favorite is their new version of Tear In My Heart. I love hearing people rework a known song and create something that stands on it's own. When it's the original band that does it, I find it even more incredible. Listen to both versions. Here is the original:

Here is the TOPxMM version:

The new version has this almost Motown vibe. The bridge I find goes into 80's land - it reminds me of Everybody Wants To Rule The World by Tears For Fears.

Here is the entire session. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page