top of page

Johnny B. Goode

The influence of Chuck Berry on all rock guitarists is, in my opinion, undeniable. I am fully aware that my lead playing owes a huge debt to this man. As such, I make sure to educate all my students on the importance of his playing. Learning the intro to his classic, Johnny B. Goode, is something that I suggest all aspiring guitarists do. It is only one chorus long but in it, we find the genesis of all rock lead work. It definitely takes practice to be able to play this at full tempo - it's a lot faster than it seems! If you have never attempted it, here is my transcription:



And here is the classic recorded version:

Rest in peace Mr. Berry and thank you for the music.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page