top of page

What's The Frequency, Kenneth?

Here is another great 90's song by R.E.M.. I was a huge fan of this band in the 80's, starting from the time when I first heard the song Radio Free Europe from the album Murmur. I bought their first three albums on vinyl and played them to death.


As the 80's progressed, I kind of moved on to other things and didn't listen to them as much. When What's The Frequency, Kenneth? came out in 1994, the band wasn't even on my radar but the first time I heard the song, I loved it. It's the guitar sound that got me. It's way more overdriven than their usual sound. As well, the song has a great tremolo guitar hook that comes in in the choruses and some perfectly simple counter melody guitar licks in the second and third verses. Basically, the song rocks. and it is also really fun to play. Click on the photo below to download a PDF of the chords and structure.

What's The Frequency, Kenneth?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page